Enter Logstash

[follows on from this post]

After I got back from the conference, having heard this Logstash thing from a number of people, I decided to have a look at it. It sits alongside/on top of of Elasticsearch (in turn a front end to an Apache Lucene search system), amongst other things, and can take all manner of data and process it in a plethora of ways to make it searchable and have analytics applied to it.

Now I’m a resolutely Web-0.9 kinda guy; I’ve never got into anything remotely resembling web “programming”. I can write basic HTML by hand but if you ask me to help with something like CSS, I’m lost. I’d already started working on something intending to use a MySQL backend but I was starting from a completely blank slate and feeling rather overwhelmed with the user interface end of the idea.

I had a read of the docs, watched a couple of videos and looked at some *really* cool dashboards people had put together for other datasets. It looked really, really nice.

Once I’d got my head around the idea of the ELK stack – Elasticsearch, Logstash and Kibana (the web interface) – I started looking at the config.

That’s for the next post!

Leave a Reply

